George Barber

George M. Barber, Director of Operations

California Water Service Company

Board of Directors

Bay Area Water Supply & Conservation Agency


George M. Barber is a member of the Board of Directors of the Bay Area Water Supply and Conservation Agency.  Mr. Barber was appointed to the board effective July 1, 2021 by the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors as an officer or employee of California Water Service Company (Cal Water).


Mr. Barber joined California Water Service in 2017 and serves as Director of Operations leading the companies’ Stockton, Chico, Oroville, Marysville, Willows and Redwood Valley Districts.  Mr. Barber is a Registered Civil Engineer and a graduate of California State University, Chico.  He holds T4 and a D4 operators licenses from the state of California.   He has experience working through the regulatory issues surrounding surface water, ground water, and drinking water.


Mr. Barber previously worked as the General Manager at Paradise Irrigation District from 2004 to 2017.  During his tenure, he authored the Urban Water Management plans for 2005, 2010, and 2015.  Mr. Barber developed the cost of service plans and guided the District with 10,000 connections through the Proposition 218 process in 2006, 2012, and 2015. He worked closely with legal counsel, leading the efforts on the extension of time request for the District’s surface water rights.  Mr. Barber also proposed and led the implementation of the District wide AMI system.


From 1995 to 2004, Mr. Barber served as the Agency Engineer and Water Division Manager with the South Feather Water & Power Agency in Oroville.


Mr. Barber’s public service includes serving as Past Chair of the Oroville Chamber of Commerce, Advisory Board Member of Salvation Army of Oroville, and the Vina Groundwater Sustainability Agency Advisory Board.


Mr. Barber received the National Association of Water Companies Living Water Award for 2019.  He served on the Butte County Water Commission from 2005 – 2017 holding the Chair position for his last 10 years. He served as an ACWA Region 2 Board Member 2010-2015 and as a Sustainability Management Association Board Member from 2014 – 2020.